Which external graphic card would you advise?

New to Thea? Feel free to ask anything here and we will help!
twc
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:32 pm

Hi Panoptical,

Yes, I have the Akitio Node with a Titan X hooked up to a 2014 5k iMac running Sierra, and it is bliss.

There was no tinkering involved. Follow the instructions in this eGPU.io thread. I only use the eGPU for CUDA acceleration so do not suffer the internal/external screen hit issue usually associated.

It works incredibly well in Redshift and Octane - Octane bench matches a native Titan X in Windows, so no different in performance. I don't use Thea but the eGPU does work with it.

The Bizonbox (from my understanding) is just a heavily marked up bundle of hardware and software other people made. There is no difference, and certainly no more or less plug and play. I would not give them your money.

I see no reason I couldn't switch the Titan out for a 1080 TI - there are already successful accounts of that on eGPU.io

Any other questions just give me a shout.
Panoptical
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:51 pm

Hi TWC:
Thanks for getting back to me so fast.
Reading through this site, https://egpu.io/, Bizonbox doesn't get much respect! It is massively marked up.

Ok cool. I have a imac 2014 as well as a late 2016 macbook pro, and it would be great to use either one
to render on.
Still a bit nervous about script stuff. Is that pretty straight forward? I dont plan to use external monitor either.
Is this the process you used to get it going?
thanks R
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 11.48.58 AM.png
twc
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:55 pm

Yep, that's it! There's really no script stuff involved, just the Terminal command to disable SIP.

I was *this* close to buying a Bizenbox as well but decided against it, and am glad I did.

You can use this setup on both your Macs (although you'll have to shut down between switching - hot plugging an eGPU causes kernel panics even when only using CUDA for some reason).
Panoptical
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:02 pm

TWC: thanks! thats pretty easy. As far as graphics cards, is there a specific graphics card i should be looking for?
looking at EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti, but theres a million variations out there.
Thx again!
R
twc
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:10 pm

No not really, although double check the card will fit in the enclosure you're buying.

The Titan i'm using is the hybrid version with water cooler - there are pics of it somewhere on eGPU.io. I had to turn the radiator 90º for the case to close, but that's about it.

Personally I'd get the EVGA 1080 TI Founders edition.
User avatar
Pixero
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1742
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Contact:

Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:42 pm

I have two questions about eGPU's.

I have a Macbook Pro from 2014 with Thunderbolt 2 and was wondering if Thunderbolt 3 eGPU's are backward compatible with it? I'm only looking to use it for rendering.

For 3D I use Windows 10 with Bootcamp on the Macbook Pro. Would that still work with a eGPU?
twc
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:00 pm

You can use a TB3 -> 2 Adapter and cable.

This works with the Akitio Node, but I don't know if it'll work with other enclosures (specifically I remember reading something about Mantis enclosures not working via the adapter but I might be wrong). No idea about Windows, don't see why not but can't help you out there.

https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MMEL ... -2-adapter
https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MD86 ... cable-20-m
User avatar
Pixero
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1742
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Contact:

Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:40 pm

Is the Akitio node long enough for a 1080 ti?
I think I read somewhere that you had to take away one end of the enclosure but I can't remember if it was that model or another.

Is it (kind of) portable?

How does it compare to the Mantiz Venus?
twc
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:57 pm

If it's the same length as a Titan X Maxwell? It'll fit.

Portable only in the sense it has a handle. Not the sort of thing you want to lug around all day (it's not heavy, but not light, and quite bulky).

Mantiz... no idea mate, sorry. Here's a comparison at eGPU.io

https://egpu.io/external-gpu-buyers-guide-2017/
User avatar
Pixero
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1742
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Contact:

Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:15 pm

Hm. I found this about Akitio Node on the Akitio site.
akitio node.jpg
akitio node.jpg (41.98 KiB) Viewed 3402 times
No OSX and no Bootcamp support.
I guess it won't work for me then. :(
Does anyone know a eGPU that does work with Bootcamp?

Another question.
Are there any PCIe Thunderbolt cards for PCs without Thunderbolt 3?
I have a HP Z420 with Windows 7 (Windows 10 sometime soon) at work.
Post Reply