Which external graphic card would you advise?

New to Thea? Feel free to ask anything here and we will help!
Post Reply
twc
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:20 pm

Pixero,

That jargon may simply be because they can't 'officially' support those uses... see this thread:-

https://egpu.io/forums/mac-setup/how-to ... boot-camp/

...i would post there and ask if it'll work for you.
Panoptical
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:32 pm

Pixero: There seem to be many people making this work on egpu.io. I'm giving the Akitio node a shot. Ordered card and node, hopefully get it working sometime next week. If you look through https://egpu.io/external-gpu-implementa ... %22#search you will see several people doing it. TWC has it working with 2014 imac.
Worth a try. Better than buying a pc to use as a render node (maybe?) as i already have to manage 4 macs.
Maybe i could have built a low maintenance set up, but i have barely touched Pcs, and thats a bit intimidating in itself.
best
R
User avatar
Rombout
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:46 pm

Pixero wrote:Hm. I found this about Akitio Node on the Akitio site.
akitio node.jpg
No OSX and no Bootcamp support.
I guess it won't work for me then. :(
Does anyone know a eGPU that does work with Bootcamp?

Another question.
Are there any PCIe Thunderbolt cards for PCs without Thunderbolt 3?
I have a HP Z420 with Windows 7 (Windows 10 sometime soon) at work.
Its not officially supported, but at egpu you can see mac users with Akitio box, plus some tips etc
https://egpu.io/external-gpu-implementations-table/
User avatar
Pixero
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1742
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Contact:

Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:59 pm

Ok but does it say anywhere it will work with Bootcamp?
Im only doing 3D with Bootcamp on it.
Panoptical
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:45 pm

Pixero: you've got to read through the posts on the gpu implemations table. From what i have read you should have better performance than on mac os. But there are no guarantees.
https://egpu.io/external-gpu-implementa ... %22#search
User avatar
Pixero
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1742
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Contact:

Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:51 am

Thanks, I will. :oops:

Another question. Just to be sure.
A eGPU can be used for interactive rendering with Thea, right?
That would be the main benefit between eGPU and a renderfarm.
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2135
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:05 am

As far as Thea is concerned it should be listed as an available CUDA device so yes.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
Panoptical
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:18 pm

I did get the external graphics card working. Pretty cool.
Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Akitio Node Thunderbolt 3
macbook pro late 2016 w touch bar

I can't say its so easy for mac user, if you have no pc experience, i had to talk to friends who are familiar with scripting, pc setups. If you know what you doing its super easy. Fo me it was all day as i made several stupid mistakes.
And its still finicky. Once set up and working, restarting is sort of tricky, the macbook, the node and the external video screen have to be just right.Sometimes i restart and the card is not recognized, or its recognized but external monitor doesnt have a signal. If you try to render without the external monitor, it will kern panic.
Still pretty cool.
R
Panoptical
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Apr 25, 2017 6:59 pm

Anthony: Do you think theres a big difference in rendering times using the TB3 vs TB2 connection from the Akitio node to rendering computer? If i render from my imac 2014 (TB2) rather than 2016 macbook pro (TB3) really makes a big difference? i can see how 32 gbps vs 16 gbps makes a huge difference with gaming, but would it be the same for thea render? What do you think?
best
R
User avatar
Rombout
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:49 pm

TB3 has more data transfer, dont think this makes a big difference though. Unless the data is more then the transfer speed, but i doubt dat with single still images.
Post Reply