Noisy Render

New to Thea? Feel free to ask anything here and we will help!
arche
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 12:51 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:31 pm

Hello Guys,

Please tell me how you get those nice smooth renders of yours with Thea for Sketchup 1.5 :cry:

I have read and followed these tips (http://kb.thearender.com/thea-studio-v1 ... sy-scenes/#) but still I don't get it. Whatever render engine I use I get the same noisy result, even after hours and hours.

In the attachment, I have used Presto MC and the area finished by itself in 10 mins. It doesn't have any artificial lighting; the lighting comes only from the sun.
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-03-19 at 19.11.02.png
Screenshot 2019-03-19 at 19.11.02.png (736.14 KiB) Viewed 2417 times
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5034
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:12 pm

Just needs more time
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
gwengosch
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 896
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:44 pm
Location: france
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:25 pm

could you share your settings? you might have something wrong.
Gwenael Gosch
La fabrique à plans
http://www.lafabriqueaplans.fr
Facebook
arche
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 12:51 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:02 pm

Thank you both for your reply.

As per my settings I have:

ISO 1600
Shutter 250
f-number 5.6
Supersampling Auto
Samples/px 512

I don't know if you refer to those settings.

In the image I attached previously it was done with Presto MC. But more or less same result I was getting also with all the other render engines except for Adaptive BSD (which I don't find appropriate for this scene as the edges result weird and the ceiling 'cloudy' - I am attaching a sample of what I mean).
rtrtrt.jpg
rtrtrt.jpg (9.22 KiB) Viewed 2401 times
Going back to my initial attachment image, I'd like to mention also that it has been rendered in less than 10 mins (the render finished by itself without me interrupting it).

I did some attempts increasing the Samples/px value to '2000' and Supersampling to 'High' and indeed I achieved a better result. What do you guys put here as value when you go for your final render for an interior space?
gnuiorc
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 11:43 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:36 pm

Do you have glass at the openings?
What are your PC specs?
Light is coming only from sky and sun?

Ciao,
Gio
User avatar
Robert
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:02 pm

Do you have a material applied to the bluish white surfaces?
What resolution and samples are you rendering at?
Robert Scott
Robert Scott Residential Design
https://www.facebook.com/scottresidentialdesign
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottresid ... sign/sets/
www.scottVIZ.com

"Growing older but not growing up"
arche
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 12:51 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:23 pm

Hello and thank you again for the replies.

The white bluish surfaces don't have a specific material applied; it's just the white default material of Sketchup.
And I usually render at 1280x720; Samples/px 512

My previous attachments have been rendered with 512 Samples/px and, as I already mentioned, there has been a noticeable improvement by increasing it to 2000 even if it takes much, much more time.

Light is coming only from sun and sky. I deleted any artificial lights because I thought the issue was coming from them, as I read around. And for the same reason I deleted the glass at the openings.

I am using an iMac with:
Processor 2.9 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory 16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1024 MB

I usually overcome this problem with some post-Lightroom and Photoshop but then I thought that maybe it's about time to learn what is that it is causing this issue.
gnuiorc
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 11:43 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:09 pm

Did you try a clay render?
Actually, on a copy, why don't you delete all the materials in sketchup and try to render?
I think there is a plugin for that if you have too many...
If you still have problems, then it could be that your machine is not powerful enough, or there are issues with the geometry (unheard of) or it is a bug.
Also, copy/paste the selected geometry in a new file.

Gio
These users thanked the author gnuiorc for the post:
arche (Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:14 pm)
Rating: 4%
User avatar
werthen
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:14 am
Has thanked: 101 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:58 pm

you should not leave any geometry with the default material. Plain white tends to produce noise.

This post has more useful information
viewtopic.php?f=82&t=19136
These users thanked the author werthen for the post:
arche (Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:14 pm)
Rating: 4%
gnuiorc
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 11:43 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:29 pm

werthen wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:58 pm
you should not leave any geometry with the default material. Plain white tends to produce noise.

This post has more useful information
viewtopic.php?f=82&t=19136
I thought this issue was long gone.
Actually I believe that SketchUp full white is converted in Thea into a 210,210,210 RGB color and not a 255,255,255

Gio
These users thanked the author gnuiorc for the post:
werthen (Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:44 pm)
Rating: 4%
Post Reply