Camera Z Clipping

Check out our technology advances and new features.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:02 pm

Dear friends,

here it is, a feature asked for long time now, finally we have it working with all engines. It is about camera Z Clipping; near and far planes that cut the space giving us the possibility to "look inside" the models. We show below a comparison render to understand better how it can be used.
house_without_zclipmap.jpg
house_with_zclipmap.jpg
This feature was quite straightforward to implement, this is why we were wondering how we missed adding it in the first place! :geek:

Best wishes

PS. One last tech announcement pending. ;)
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
jenujacob
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:28 pm

yes!!!!
many thanks!
Win10 x64 | Intel i7-3930K| GeForce GTX 680 4gb DDR | GeForce 630GT| 32Gb Ram
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5034
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:31 pm

Very very handy!...
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
Frankych
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:54 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:55 pm

Good stuff Ioannis,
one question springs to mind when seeing the image, can one assign a material or a colour to the cut geometry (showing black on the render)?

Cheers
Francois
User avatar
saurus
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Serbia
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 39 times
Contact:

Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:25 pm

This is great addition :clap:
User avatar
john keates
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:57 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:36 pm

Frankych wrote:Good stuff Ioannis,
one question springs to mind when seeing the image, can one assign a material or a colour to the cut geometry (showing black on the render)?

Cheers
Francois

I assume it will be cut out in the Alpha so you can easily add the colour of choice afterwards?
User avatar
rogerpenna
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:58 am
Location: Neu Hamburg, Brazil
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:45 pm

hmmm... one more tech announcement pending?

From the trailer
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9XNB-cYpMk

Physical Sky: done
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... 17&t=13622

Presto GPU Improved Sampling: done
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... 17&t=13522

Camera Z Clipping: done (this thread)

Presto GPU Instancing Support: done
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... 17&t=13662

GPU SSS: done
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... 17&t=13419

Micro-Roughness: done
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... 17&t=13379



only feature still lacking it´s own thread is PRESTO GPU+CPU Speed Boost!!! YAY!

Does that mean that after that feature get it´s thread, Thea 1.3 will be released??? :)

btw: I will soon be a new customer. It´s quite a pain..., I wanted to buy Thea last week, but the euro and dollar are fluctuating too much in relation to Brazilian Real. Therefore I won´t use credit card, because I don´t want any surprise when the credit card bill comes (they will use the Euro quote from the day... what if it JUMPS in the meantime?

So I will use a new PayPal method available to Brazil, which discounts the value directly from the bank account. However, my bank has no such deal with Paypal, meaning I had to do a transfer to my wife´s account in another bank and validate that account for this Paypal method. I think by wednesday all bank bureaucracy will be dealt with and I will be able to make the Thea purchase!
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5034
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:47 pm

What I think is that it is black because light doesn't reach there. If it's like that I suppose, that color would hardly change but there might be ways of dealing with that with render passes.

Probably a normal pass will show some useable differences that can be easy to select in Postpro...

Black in itself is pretty useable in this case!
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:16 pm

rogerpenna wrote: Does that mean that after that feature get it´s thread, Thea 1.3 will be released??? :)
You guessed right.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:20 pm

Frankych wrote: one question springs to mind when seeing the image, can one assign a material or a colour to the cut geometry (showing black on the render)
No, there is no possibility to assign something in the cut. The problem is that no light reaches this area, it will be black no matter what the material is.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
Locked