Presto GPU+CPU

Check out our technology advances and new features.
picoman
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:41 am

I think youre missing the point...
When I load a scene/model in THEA I want to see how much GPU memory will be taken and if I will still be able to render using GPU+CPU option.
If not I can start lowering my geometry polycount, smaller texture resolutions and then be within the limits and use GPU+CPU without any problem.
User avatar
GreenUser
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:09 am
Location: California, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:00 am

picoman when you click render if you click on the Thea "Console" it will tell you exactly how much GPU memory is being taken up and which devices are being used for rendering so you can lower polycount and smaller textures if needed.

It shows up like so
Device #0: GeForce GTX 480
Device #0: memory 626/1536 Mb

If you have two devices one GPU one CPU it should be something like
Device #0: GeForce GTX 480
Device #1: Intel 3770k at 3.5Ghz
Device #1: memory 4189/12287 Mb
Device #0: memory 626/1536 Mb

I'm pretty sure though this is showing total RAM used not the RAM used only for the one scene in Thea. To get that I'd say start Thea fresh and use other program to check like All CPU Meter for CPU and GPU-Z for GPUs. Now load a scene and see how much more is used when rendering. Take the difference.

I would also like to say that this also does work on AMD CPUs not just Intel CPUs.
picoman
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:33 am

Can Giannis confirm this?
User avatar
notareal
Thea Support
Thea Support
Posts: 6558
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Oulu, Finland
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:50 am

For me GPU-Z and Thea both seem to give the same memory usage... so Thea reports the total memory used.
User avatar
GreenUser
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:09 am
Location: California, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:18 am

I tried the benchmarks on the new about 3x faster Newton Render Farm.
This is what I got in 5 minutes.
Casutics: 5995 sp
Instancing: 1115 sp
Meccano Plane: 5305 sp
SSS Gears: 2622 sp

Happy Rendering
GreenUser
User avatar
notareal
Thea Support
Thea Support
Posts: 6558
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Oulu, Finland
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:20 pm

GreenUser wrote:I tried the benchmarks on the new about 3x faster Newton Render Farm.
This is what I got in 5 minutes.
Casutics: 5995 sp
Instancing: 1115 sp
Meccano Plane: 5305 sp
SSS Gears: 2622 sp

Happy Rendering
GreenUser
:thumbup:
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:54 am

GreenUser wrote:I tried the benchmarks on the new about 3x faster Newton Render Farm.
This is what I got in 5 minutes.
Casutics: 5995 sp
Instancing: 1115 sp
Meccano Plane: 5305 sp
SSS Gears: 2622 sp

Happy Rendering
GreenUser
Very nice John, perhaps we should include this benchmark in the spreadsheet (let's talk directly for this).
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
GreenUser
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:09 am
Location: California, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:35 am

giannis wrote:Very nice John, perhaps we should include this benchmark in the spreadsheet (let's talk directly for this).
Sounds good.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:26 am

Locking discussion thread.
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
Locked