Presto GPU+CPU

Check out our technology advances and new features.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:06 pm

JQL wrote: - Are the images in the pdf from the fastest system or the slowest?
The renders come from Patrick's machine; it is either the 3rd one or 4th one in the sequence.
JQL wrote: - Why did you opt to have 5min for every machine and not a s/p limit so we could see how much time it would take to reach a clear image for each scene?
A "clear" image is something subjective. But anyway, fixing the s/p is another way to go; the result does not change though. We just chosen 5 minutes and recorded the throughput of the machines, there is nothing particular about this versus your proposal.

greetings
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:08 pm

Rosco wrote: Does this mean that CPU could influence on GPU performance when working together, or would it be due to other reasons (ram, motherboard...)?
Like Pentti said (about different frequencies) and you have guessed, a system is more than just the GPU chipset. Memories, motherboard, bus, etc. affect the GPU performance.

greetings
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:10 pm

jc4d wrote:What ram is going to be use in this method?
The more the better, as always. Always depending on the scene. Presto is CPU memory hungry at the moment, but you should expect memory footprint after some point, close to the other CPU engines of Thea.

greetings
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:11 pm

JQL wrote: But you managed to render the instance scene with no problems... Can you tell if RAM adds up to GPU RAM? Or the scene fits all inside your 1GB?
The instancing scene (found in the benchmark pdf) has been modeled so that it can be rendered by GPUs with 1Gb.
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:15 pm

gabrielefx wrote:Embree+Cuda?

very strange marriage...:)
A very efficient marriage!!
gabrielefx wrote: Will work with Intel Knight?
I cannot say at the moment.
gabrielefx wrote: does it work in distribute render?
Yes.
gabrielefx wrote: I would like to know if there are differences between Cuda and Embree for cpu.
CUDA is the platform of NVidia for programming its GPUs. Not to be confused with Embree which is a library to take advantage of modern CPU architecture for ray tracing.

greetings
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:17 pm

rogerpenna wrote: When we render the same image with Presto or CPU, we get some minor differences in color and some other details. What happens when the scene is rendered with GPU+CPU? We get the results from Presto or from CPU rendering?
You get the results from "Presto" (if I understand your question well). The algorithmic part of Presto, stays the same on both GPU and CPU sides, of course the implementation differs to adapt better to the different architectures.

greetings
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5034
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:20 pm

What a great set of answers Giannis, thanks!
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
Bob James
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:57 am
Location: Lompoc, CA USA
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:07 pm

Will the test files be available so we can compare the results with our own setups?
i7-6800K 3.4Ghz, GTX 1080ti 11GB, 32GB Crucial DDR4-2400 ECC, OCZ Vertex 4 1TB, WD Black 3TB, 32TB NAS, 4x Dell 27" Monitors, SpaceMouse Pro
Never underestimate the intelligence of your audience nor overestimate your own - Bob James
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 9887
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:32 pm

I believe so
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
User avatar
Solo
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3647
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 9:15 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:27 pm

Bob James wrote:Will the test files be available so we can compare the results with our own setups?

Your machine is going to be killer. :mrgreen:
Locked