Presto CPU up to 50% Faster for Many-Core CPUs

Check out our technology advances and new features.
User avatar
warnotte
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:18 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:39 pm

foster wrote:Yes, Intel does make cpus with 12 physical cores, the E5-2600 is one example.
John
Yes you're right, the E5-2600v2 can be 12 cores. :mrgreen:
foster
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:56 pm

Thanks for the reply Giannis. That sounds very good, I am excited to try it out. I currently have a dual processor machine, and each processor is a six-core Xeon. Including threads, it shows as 24 cores in Thea.

Best,
John
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:22 am

archplanviz wrote: Concerning the use of a titan: is it better to put a second and smaller gpu into the system so that the titan can be used for rendering only and set it priority to even high without problems?
I was quite sure I had answered that but I don't see my answer anymore... :oops:

Yes, definitely, if you have a separate display card (even a cheap one) with the Titan(s) used as worker devices (set to High priority) is the best scenario. Don't forget to disable the windows watchdog,
because, as far as I have seen, it is also used for secondary devices (not only the display).

You could even use the display card for rendering, just make sure it is low priority to get a fluid(er) user interface.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:24 am

foster wrote:Thanks for the reply Giannis. That sounds very good, I am excited to try it out. I currently have a dual processor machine, and each processor is a six-core Xeon. Including threads, it shows as 24 cores in Thea.
One of the machines we tested was the one on the presto benchmark sheet, a dual Xeon, 12 cores 24 threads in total (2 x Xeon E5645 @ 2.4 GHz). The speed-up for many scenes was around 15%. Newer processors with higher frequency should get even more boost.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
foster
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:45 pm

That is exactly what I have: dual Xeon E5645 @2.4 ghz. Now I know what I can expect.

Thank you!
John
User avatar
artedesigner
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:12 pm

is there a forum link where this version can be downloaded for licensed users? I really could need some more speed right now to finish a project.. :)
User avatar
notareal
Thea Support
Thea Support
Posts: 6558
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Oulu, Finland
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:19 am

artedesigner wrote:is there a forum link where this version can be downloaded for licensed users? I really could need some more speed right now to finish a project.. :)
The latest Thea version and changes log can always be found from
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... =61&t=1849
User avatar
artedesigner
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Sun Apr 20, 2014 3:52 pm

notareal wrote: The latest Thea version and changes log can always be found from
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... =61&t=1849

Thank you!
Locked