Presto Motion Blur and Displacement

Check out our technology advances and new features.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Mon Dec 01, 2014 2:45 pm

Dear friends,

you probably know the news already but it is always a nice thing that we publish more detailed information about the technological advances we are making. We thought also to pack 2 features together, since motion blur and displacement are already supported by the CPU engines.

First of all, Presto motion blur.
Although, Thea motion description is only about transformation motion at the moment, it is quite advanced in the sense that there is spline, linear, cyclic motion. On top of that, user can combine multiple such motion descriptions to create a far more complex one.

Developing motion blur on the GPU is not that straightforward in the sense of re-creating this complexity. But we managed it and I have to say that it is a masterpiece of coding. Blur gets smooth very fast. :)

Here are 2 video samples showing Thea Presto motion blur in action!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5cmprzIBFQ[/youtube]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0byHQSv22uc[/youtube]


Then, Presto displacement.
There is no question that ray tracing displacement on the GPU is particularly difficult. For Presto we kept the same methodology when micro displacing surfaces on the fly, as we are already using. The part with normal smoothing for the displacement was quite challenging.

We are very happy with the result and performance, you will find out that Presto displacement is easily the fastest when comparing against Thea Render CPU engines - which is of course to be expected. Currently though, one limitation holds for the displacement: it must be described with a single bitmap texture (i.e. no texture layering support).

And here a render with displacement, a tweaked zipper scene from our advanced set of scenes.
zipper_presto_26m38s_316x4sp.jpg

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
rogerpenna
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:58 am
Location: Neu Hamburg, Brazil
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:19 pm

Beautiful.

Giannis, can we clarify a bit about the "no texture layering" for Presto Displacement yet?

does that mean you can´t use displacement and opacity map at the same time? Or that is not considered texture layering?
allabulle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:11 pm
Location: Barcelona
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:20 pm

Nice!
Congratulations and thanks for the heads-up. Also, it's a nice touch to add some explanation of the process involved and what to expect. Thanks!
allabulle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:11 pm
Location: Barcelona
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:22 pm

rogerpenna wrote:Beautiful.

Giannis, can we clarify a bit about the "no texture layering" for Presto Displacement yet?

does that mean you can´t use displacement and opacity map at the same time? Or that is not considered texture layering?
My take is that the displacement must use only one texture.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:43 pm

rogerpenna wrote: does that mean you can´t use displacement and opacity map at the same time? Or that is not considered texture layering?
Like "allabulle" says: the texture in the displacement panel for the material must be a single bitmap. Not to be confused with opacity or other texture in the material.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5142
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 99 times
Contact:

Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:27 pm

That heli scene is great why doesn't architecture spin like that...

A single map that you can tweak right?

Clamp, brightness and contrast are very useful for displacement...
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10175
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:34 pm

I think its stacking displacement images you can't do, you can still change contrast etc for that map
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:22 pm

Gianni's confirmed It earlier, no stacking. GPU guys are lucky this year ;)
User avatar
Javadevil
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3705
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Noosa
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:26 pm

Looking good, can't wait to play with displacement.
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Mon Dec 01, 2014 10:37 pm

PS that dust and lens flare is probably After Effects, right?
Locked