Fresnel Ramp Procedural

Check out our technology advances and new features.
User avatar
jc4d
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1209
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Tornio, Finland
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:11 am

Awesome feature. :)
Can we use a texture map or only colors?
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:32 am

No, that's true!

But, in the specific procedural, you can change the ramp type to Fresnel and just "play" with IOR and exponent. These alone can create quite a few variations without overwhelming with parameters.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
patricks
Thea Technical Artist
Thea Technical Artist
Posts: 2375
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: Germany & Palma de Mallorca/Spain
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:36 am

jc4d wrote:Awesome feature. :)
Can we use a texture map or only colors?
the second image is using texture maps ;)
there will be example materials where you can see the setup.

Greetings,
Patrick
" Poets say science takes away from the beauty of the stars - mere globs of gas atoms.
I too, can see the stars on a desert night, and feel them. But do I see less or more ? "

Richard P. Feynman
User avatar
Javadevil
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3705
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Noosa
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:55 am

This is good to see, I love 3dsmax's falloff map, so this is a nice addition to Thea.

cheers
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:15 pm

jc4d wrote:Can we use a texture map or only colors?
It is only colors for integrations. Using the RGB curves... is a hidden way of using 1D texture actually, describing the ramp. I had the idea to add such an option but left it aside at the end.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
SandroS
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:26 pm

great addition and adds very little (if anything) to render times - as always technically excellent.

couldn't resist having a quick go and here are a couple of test renders. bear in mind i have no idea how the map is supposed to be used so i just fiddled until i got the look i wanted (in this case i wanted the velvet to look well used and thick).

these are around 5 min renders on my ageing 560ti and sofa models are from VizPeople (IIRC):

Image

Image
Last edited by SandroS on Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:38 pm, edited 8 times in total.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:40 pm

Sandro, would it be possible to place the photos inside the post? It seems the links are broken.
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
SandroS
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:43 pm

giannis wrote:Sandro, would it be possible to place the photos inside the post? It seems the links are broken.
that's what i wanted to do but i couldn't see the usual buttons to link images. maybe i missed them or maybe it's not possible in this forum section?

i'll try again...
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5034
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:45 pm

SandroS wrote:
giannis wrote:Sandro, would it be possible to place the photos inside the post? It seems the links are broken.
that's what i wanted to do but i couldn't see the usual buttons to link images. maybe i missed them or maybe it's not possible in this forum section?

i'll try again...
Don't believe you that's just a trick to make us curious!
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
SandroS
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:39 pm

JQL wrote:Don't believe you that's just a trick to make us curious!
:)

absolutely not! and now i feel embarrassed as i doubt they'll live up to expectations :oops:

can you see them now?
SandroS wrote:i'll try again...
tried but there's definitely no way to upload to this forum section.
Locked