Page 4 of 7

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:33 am
by notareal
giannis wrote:
grzybu wrote: If Thea will support Iris it will be great, but it will probably boil my macbook in seconds
That's always a concern.

Actually, the experience we have is that brand laptops from well known manufacturers have no issues. It is usually the systems without a label that have problems; if you are buying/creating such systems from parts and want to use them as render machines, the advice is: buy good cooling (water cooling if possible), good case (for ventilation) and sufficient power supply. As soon as someone gets a high end CPU/GPU but puts that in a system the problems start: it can be dangerous up to the point of burning the device (due to bad ventilation) or driver crashes / black renders (due to insufficient power supply).

Best wishes
With a quick look, Intel Iris Pro is fairly nice with OpenCL. The experience I have from macs, is that there has not been temperature issues... they are have well designed hardware. Personally if I had a Iris Pro, I would like to put that in use. The risks I see are related to poorly designed (windows)laptops.
Here is some test that give a impression how performance might increase.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6993/inte ... -tested/17

Image

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:52 pm
by Oxer
Good news!!
I have a iMac with AMD Radeon HD 6970M and ready to test this new feature :thumbup: :clap:
If you have a Mac computer you can see in this link what version of OpenGL and OpenCL your computer uses.

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:19 am
by Rombout
I got iris pro mid 2015 MacBook, mine doesn't have the extra amd processor. I don't see my model there I don't think I can apply.

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 5:24 pm
by duanekemp
I'm enthusiastic to try this... please include me.
Thank you.

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:29 pm
by Domingus4D
Finally!!!
Put me on that list, please.

We have several AMD Cards and an iMac with Intel Iris for testing

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:50 am
by pzdm
here am I!
I can test both platforms for you, esp. profi GPUs!

Pavel

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:17 pm
by Bo Dodge
Have you guys starting contacting your Beta Testers yet?

I'm curious to know if the OpenCL Presto port will support the twin Firepro D300/500/700s on the newer Mac Pros?

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:58 am
by giannis
Bo Dodge wrote:Have you guys starting contacting your Beta Testers yet?
We will be doing so shortly. I am sorry for the delay but there were a lot of vacations planned inside August and so we were going much slower. We are back and will be going full throttle in a few days again. :)
Bo Dodge wrote: I'm curious to know if the OpenCL Presto port will support the twin Firepro D300/500/700s on the newer Mac Pros?
There 's a particular reason for supporting AMD/OpenCL and it has a name: mac pros. ;)

Best wishes

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 5:17 am
by asureshbabu
Please tel how to reduce the render time in PRESTO AO in cpu only ...

Re: Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:57 pm
by eph
Hey Giannis,

Would like to sign up!
Will the beta also run inside Sketchup & other apps?

Cheers