Fine Tuning of Interactive Render (Adaptive AMC)

Check out our technology advances and new features.
User avatar
Rombout
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:02 pm

did try to copy the setting from the GL folder to the preset folder

*edit just checked it's not there... as i understand now why there was core written behind it in the update... DUH :mrgreen:
User avatar
notareal
Thea Support
Thea Support
Posts: 6558
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Oulu, Finland
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:39 pm

noro wrote:
giannis wrote:Adaptive AMC is available now in forum downloads (new revision 610) but to use it in normal render settings you have to do some dirty work and create a render preset (because it does not appear as drop down option - only for IR).

Best wishes
Ok, but how??? :cry:
Saved IR settings can be find from "C:\ProgramData\Thea Render\Config\IR Settings.xml". One need to build a preset based on that and save it in C:\ProgramData\Thea Render\Presets.
User avatar
Rombout
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:03 pm

notareal wrote:
noro wrote:
giannis wrote:Adaptive AMC is available now in forum downloads (new revision 610) but to use it in normal render settings you have to do some dirty work and create a render preset (because it does not appear as drop down option - only for IR).

Best wishes
Ok, but how??? :cry:
Saved IR settings can be find from "C:\ProgramData\Thea Render\Config\IR Settings.xml". One need to build a preset based on that and save it in C:\ProgramData\Thea Render\Presets.
Yup thanks got it...
So open thea render something in IR with AMC setting. Close thea and go to the config folder copy paste this xml file in the Presets folder and change thing to your wish

*edit
Nope doesnt work! the engine doesnt switch

*edit
OEPS! it does work, i didnt looked properly at the xml setup!

*edit
Just need to find out how to set the quality know :mrgreen:
User avatar
noro
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:45 pm

Hi Rombout, could you share your work??? I am not happy with my ideas :(.
User avatar
Rombout
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:54 pm

yep...
but im haven't found the setting to adjust the quality, perhaps this isnt even possible LINK

*edit
okay you can play with a lot of setting just like regular BSD...
Really do need to check this some time :mrgreen:
User avatar
noro
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:16 pm

MANY THANX, BRO :)
User avatar
tridem
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:50 am
Location: Treviso - Italy
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Wed Jan 04, 2012 5:22 pm

There's a new parameter in the IR engine settings, "Adaptive Bias" ... :think: I cannot figure out, how it works?
User avatar
SandroS
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 8:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:16 pm

tridem wrote:There's a new parameter in the IR engine settings, "Adaptive Bias" ... :think: I cannot figure out, how it works?
basically, the higher the Adaptive Bias, the less accurate the lighting solution. i think around 25% is the best quality/performance ratio and will give results similar to TR1/2.

open the Glass of Water scene and activate AMC. then you should see clearly the difference in the quality of the caustics as you change the Bias.

similarly, if you open the Simple Interior scene, the higher the Bias the less convincing the lighting will appear (for example the direct sunlight on the floor and the GI).

of course the benefit of increasing the Bias is that the render will clear faster, so for initial set up of materials and lights a high Bias with a low Tracing Depth and low IR resolution will clear very fast. then for tweaking (or for final renders), set Bias to around 25%, increase the Tracing Depth high enough to allow all transparency and reflections to render correctly (they will appear black if Tracing Depth is too low) and finally set IR to Camera Resolution.

at least, that's how i use IR...
User avatar
tridem
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:50 am
Location: Treviso - Italy
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:23 pm

perfect explanation Sandro, thanks :thumbup:
User avatar
joe average
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 640
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 4:59 am
Location: India
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:36 am

tridem wrote:perfect explanation Sandro, thanks
+1 :thumbup:
AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core 5000+ 2.61 ghz, 2gb Ram, graphics card:512 mb xfx8500gt win 7 home 64 bit
Google Sketchup 8 + Thea Render


http://www.mukulsharma.net/
Locked