Page 11 of 15

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 11:09 am
by gelbuilding

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 11:54 am
by gelbuilding
Yeah JQ you are spot on.
Nige advised when you disable the normal map in the top layer in version 1.5 it looks good,
Strange that I just noticed now, lol
I disabled the normal map in studio 2 and the reflection is perfect.
Any suggestions what I need to do to correct this error.
The material was created with Substance Thea Convertor.

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:04 pm
by nigec
I wonder if its something similar with the png error from Substance we had with reflections maps ending up true white?
edit no its not

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:12 pm
by duanekemp
Nige... why would it not work with it enabled? Or would it work if not in the top layer?

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:18 pm
by nigec
If you reduce the amount of bump it also fixes it, I think the Substance convertor sets the values to high, I have no idea why its doing it though

In V2 the displacement is wrong too, but I'd imagine this is due to improvements, displacement wasn't good in v1.5

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:39 pm
by claudio
Hi All,
an update on the real-time rendering.

I look into the scene you guys kindly provided and I forgot a problem that currently it's making it difficult to render interior scenes.
The objects only reflects the environment map.
This is perfectly ok for objects in exteriors, while it's completely wrong for objects in interiors.
Everything is so light because it reflects the outside environment as if it was outside.

So let me summarize a couple of notions that can help you create better images with Real-time:
  1. Use in exterior scenes :D
  2. There is an error of intensity when using .hdr images. We need to look into that.
    It works better when using the standard environment provided in the installation package, but still there is a slight difference in luminosity.
  3. Use an Env.Light for shadows
    You may need to adjust the light as with both it may become overexposed. Usually a 0.7 for light intensity will make lighting better, but it highly depends on the environment map luminosity.
  4. Reflectivity does not work well for objects in interiors. This is a huge limitation of course. We are working on that.
  5. Setting "Global Illumination (Real-time)" to "Accurate" improve the lighting on half interior/exterior scenes such as the Sponza model I posted before. This works only on Windows with graphic cards not too old (it needs some modern OpenGL features). Unfortunately Apple dropped OpenGL support since a few years now and does not support those features. :x
Thanks,
-Claudio

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:42 pm
by claudio
An update for the next beta: we though we were going to release today, but we encountered an issue we want to fix and it will take until tomorrow.
We are also splitting the package with and without the Assets, so who already downloaded beta 2 can use a much smaller download.

I hope we can make it for tomorrow :roll:

-Claudio

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:59 pm
by duanekemp
Do I understand that it's only .pack.thea files that can be imported? Not img.thea files

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:54 pm
by claudio
duanekemp wrote:
Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:59 pm
Do I understand that it's only .pack.thea files that can be imported? Not img.thea files
From open file dialog:
  • .scn.thea
  • .pack.thea
  • .xml
From material library (right-click on a "User" category):
  • .mat.thea
  • .mat.pack
No img.thea...
(Was it a texture?)

-Claudio

Re: Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:18 pm
by JQL
IMG.thea os the full rendered info. It has all colors in 32bit, channels, parameters, relight options and if you load into the corresponding scene you can resume rendering.