Page 1 of 2

[BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:53 pm
by dbalex
Everything is in the title > ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:18 pm
by nigec
yeah I reported here but never got a response
viewtopic.php?f=185&t=25997

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:21 pm
by claudio
Hi dbalex,

If you save the scene as .pack.thea, the IES lights will be saved correctly and Inspire Studio/Render will read them in properly.
We tested this workflow and it works.

My wild guess is that you saved in .scn.thea instead?

Let us know how it goes.

Thanks,
-Claudio

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:23 pm
by claudio
nigec wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:18 pm
yeah I reported here but never got a response
viewtopic.php?f=185&t=25997
I'm sorry, I completely missed that post.

The problem, anyway, has been fixed since quite some time.
IES lights are properly working in beta 5.

Thanks,
-Claudio

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:16 pm
by dbalex
Yes I saved as scn.thea

I understand that as pack.thea everything gets packed inside the pack files so also the ies light but shouldn't it work with scn.thea also?

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:26 pm
by claudio
You're right.
Currently, they are accessible if you don't close SU.
With a small change from our side, they will be accessible anytime.

Thanks for reporting,
-Claudio

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 1:51 pm
by tengwai128
same here. :wave: u r not alone.
but i've manage to search the IES directory and re-activates all IES lights :?

huge learning curve here from Thea studio to this AIR studio.

guys i cant even get my cameras (which was previously set and locked in thea studio) to readjust the heights as the cameras are all point downwards. it seems that it doesnt support 2 points perspectives :thumbdown: .

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:18 pm
by claudio
When external files are missing (textures, ies, etc.), in the status bar there is a notification about that and a "Fix" button to search for those files:
Missing external files.jpg
Missing external files.jpg (8.75 KiB) Viewed 5289 times
.
It's either possible to specify the missing files one by one or to specify a base folder, and Inspire Render will search that folder and its sub-folders for the missing files.

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:23 pm
by claudio
tengwai128 wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 1:51 pm
guys i cant even get my cameras (which was previously set and locked in thea studio) to readjust the heights as the cameras are all point downwards. it seems that it doesnt support 2 points perspectives :thumbdown: .
"Shift X,Y" are not supported currently, is this your case?
They will be added in the next version.

What is weird is that the cameras point downwards..... Can you share (in PM if you prefer) the file?

Thanks,
-Claudio

Re: [BUG] ies lights don't get imported/exported from sketchup

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:15 pm
by nigec
those ies files are in C:\ProgramData\Thea Render\ies, could you not just automatically check whether that data folder is already used?
If you use those lights from data no path is set in Studio unless you physically browse for the folder/file
Sketchup actually uses this folder structure, for ies, skies, crf and other stuff