Christmas

Final renders, ready to show off.
Post Reply
User avatar
seraleklee1
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 797
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:51 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Regards, for Christmas I created this scene, do you like it? I rendered it first with Thea and then with Cycles.
Attachments
NoelContest-Scene 9.jpg
NoelContest-Scene 6.jpg
i9 7920X - Zotac 3070 TI - 32 gb ram
DavePSB
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1291
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:56 pm
Location: France

I’ve been waiting for some good comparisons between Thea and Blender, and this is a great scene. Thank you. I am wondering if more and more archviz types will finally discover Cycles.

How did you export / import the scene between the two? Did you use the SU plugin or one of the others? Thea 1.5 or 2.2?

Interested to hear if anyone has any particular criticisms regarding either of these renders...

Thanks again.
Win 10
i7-9700K,3.6GHz,32Gb,
RTX2060Super, 8Gb, 442.19
SUMake2015 (15.3.331)
TheaForSU (1.5.09.547.1462)
Thea Studio (1.5.09.1462)
SUMake 2017 (17.2.2555)
TheaForSU (2.2.954.1860)
Blender 2.79, Plugin 1.5.8.760.1455
Blender 2.8x
Revised 14 Feb 2020
User avatar
seraleklee1
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 797
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:51 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

First of all thank you. I used Thea 2.2, to export I opened the SketchUp file in pCon.planner (free) and saved in FBX format, which Blender imported correctly. I have to say that I like Thea's renders, but I like Cycles more. Regards
i9 7920X - Zotac 3070 TI - 32 gb ram
User avatar
seraleklee1
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 797
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:51 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

This is a render with Cycles
Attachments
ContestBlender06_lznSM.jpg
i9 7920X - Zotac 3070 TI - 32 gb ram
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10334
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK

I used to use https://github.com/martijnberger/pyslap ... s/tag/0.15 but sadly the guy seems to have abandoned it, it still works with Blender 2.79a and maybe 2.79b and you would need to save the skp as su2016.. it creates Cycles materials..

I used it when I was trying the Luxcore plugin, it seemed to import my scenes fine into Blender, the trick is to use 2016 or earlier skp files

Nice work :)
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
User avatar
seraleklee1
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 797
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:51 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Thank you! Yes I used it too, in fact on my computer I also installed version 2.77 of Blender. I use the current version 2.81 and with the passage I described in the previous post I feel good equally.
i9 7920X - Zotac 3070 TI - 32 gb ram
DavePSB
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1291
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:56 pm
Location: France

Thanks Seraleklee1 for the additional info, and thanks to both you and Nigec for the import/export tips. I will be trying both pcon and the martijnberger importer. I use legacy Blender and Thea versions quite a bit, so these are good tools to be aware of.
Win 10
i7-9700K,3.6GHz,32Gb,
RTX2060Super, 8Gb, 442.19
SUMake2015 (15.3.331)
TheaForSU (1.5.09.547.1462)
Thea Studio (1.5.09.1462)
SUMake 2017 (17.2.2555)
TheaForSU (2.2.954.1860)
Blender 2.79, Plugin 1.5.8.760.1455
Blender 2.8x
Revised 14 Feb 2020
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10334
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK

I was going to try and recompile that importer against a newer Sketchup SDK and the last Blender for Artists, but I never got a response from Trimble.. I quite liked BFA, but the version that supported the martijnberger importer had issues.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
DavePSB
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1291
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:56 pm
Location: France

Just for info: The link to the martijnberger addon given earlier implies latest is version is 0.15.

But if you go here:
https://github.com/martijnberger/pyslapi

I see the latest is 0.19 circa Nov 2017. I was also reading the Issues, and noted that at least on post said it works on Blender 2.79b.
Win 10
i7-9700K,3.6GHz,32Gb,
RTX2060Super, 8Gb, 442.19
SUMake2015 (15.3.331)
TheaForSU (1.5.09.547.1462)
Thea Studio (1.5.09.1462)
SUMake 2017 (17.2.2555)
TheaForSU (2.2.954.1860)
Blender 2.79, Plugin 1.5.8.760.1455
Blender 2.8x
Revised 14 Feb 2020
Post Reply

Return to “Showcase”