Page 1 of 1

GTX1050 is recognized but has no activities in render?

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:29 am
by Benjamin76
I got a new computer with a dedicated GTX1050 and an integrated Intel GPU. I have latest drivers installed. When I rendered in the latest version of Thea Studio or Thea for Rhino, the GTX1050 was recognized in the devices list but the system showed no GPU activities when rendering was in progress. Thea Benchmark tool gave the same outcome. This is so different from what I saw on my desktop computer where both CPU and GPU showed noticeable ongoing workloads when rendering. Is GTX1050 not fully supported yet or something?
GTX1050 Driver Info.jpg
DevicesList_GTX1050.jpg
DevicesList_GTX1050.jpg (82.04 KiB) Viewed 481 times
Performance(GTX1050+8650)_Thea.jpg

Re: GTX1050 is recognized but has no activities in render?

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:30 am
by Nicola
Check in the console tab if are there any errors

Re: GTX1050 is recognized but has no activities in render?

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:44 am
by DavePSB
It seems odd to me that your 1050 only has 2 Gb of memory. If that is the case, several recent posts have suggested that if a scene’s memory requirement exceeds the capacity a the GPU, then the relevant GPU will not be used at all. This also seems odd to me, but is apparently the case. I suspect almost any scene, including the benchmarks, should exceed 2 Gb.

Re: GTX1050 is recognized but has no activities in render?

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:05 pm
by Frederik
DavePSB wrote:If that is the case, several recent posts have suggested that if a scene’s memory requirement exceeds the capacity a the GPU, then the relevant GPU will not be used at all. This also seems odd to me, but is apparently the case.
If a scene exceeds the GPU memory capacity how would it be able to be utilized...?
DavePSB wrote:I suspect almost any scene, including the benchmarks, should exceed 2 Gb.
Nope...

Re: GTX1050 is recognized but has no activities in render?

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:28 pm
by Benjamin76
Hi, thanks for sharing ideas. I did more tests and found that the GTX1050 was definitely working. Render time almost tripled if I choose to render with CPU only. It is just mysterious that Task Manager cannot detect any activities of that GPU. This is so different from what I saw on my desktop computer with a GTX1080. That graphic card showed a workload of 30%-85% when Thea used both CPU and GPU for rendering.

Re: GTX1050 is recognized but has no activities in render?

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:32 pm
by Benjamin76
Nicola wrote:Check in the console tab if are there any errors
No error at all. All seems normal.
Thea Console(GTX1050+8650).jpg