Presto Benchmark scenes

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: patricks

Post Reply
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10378
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK

seraleklee1 wrote:from the comparison of the results I would say that I can only overclock my Xeon.
But I do not know how to do, my motherboard Supermicro X9DRH-7F
http://www.supermicro.com/products/moth ... DRH-7F.cfm
do not think that allows overclocking! :cry:
Giannis recommends you don't overclock either devices
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
Nicola
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 5:59 pm

my pc (quite old) with a new viedo card

Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/Caustics/Caustics.scn.thea"
Device #0: GeForce GTX 760
Device #1: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Device #1: memory 2296/3582 Mb
Device #0: memory 473/4095 Mb
Device #0: 331 s/p
Device #1: 63 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 5 seconds!


Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/Instancing/Instancing.scn.thea"
Device #0: GeForce GTX 760
Device #1: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Device #0: memory 799/4095 Mb
Device #0: 29 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 3 seconds!

ONLY GPU seems better!!!!
Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/Instancing/Instancing.scn.thea"
Device #0: GeForce GTX 760
Device #0: memory 799/4095 Mb
Device #0: 31 s/p
Finished in 309 seconds
Finished in 5 minutes and 17 seconds!

Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/MeccanoPlane/MeccanoPlane.scn.thea"
Device #0: GeForce GTX 760
Device #1: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Device #1: memory 2697/3582 Mb
Device #0: memory 559/4095 Mb
Device #0: 329 s/p
Device #1: 51 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 4 seconds!

Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/SSSGears/SSSGears.scn.thea"
Device #0: GeForce GTX 760
Device #1: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Device #1: memory 2329/3582 Mb
Device #0: memory 524/4095 Mb
Device #0: 91 s/p
Device #1: 29 s/p
User avatar
christrapeze
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:52 am
Location: Hurjaruuth dance theater at The Pannhaulli at Kaapelitehdas Helsinki

any one resolved the issue where some of us could not download scenes,?? just out of frustrated curiosity :)
i7 990x hex core overclocked 4.3Ghz 24Gb ram
2 X GTX 770 2 Gb, fractal design 1000w 80+ platinum
i5 3.2Ghz 8Gb ram GTX480 1.5 Gb

ASUS ROG G752, GTX 980m 4GB, 16gb ram
sketchup 2016 pro, 3ds max 2014, zbrush 4.6
imodel
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 500
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:37 pm

Giannis told me he would post them after the first of the year. :)
foster
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:01 pm

Hi,

I recently got a GTX 770, so these benchmarks may be interesting to those of you who are interested in one. I am very happy with it, it is very quiet and "inexpensive" compared to the titan.

I am experiencing one problem, however. When I try to render the Instance Benchmark Scene, my Nvidia driver crashes, the screen goes black & then on again, and then I must restart Thea. I do have the latest driver. I also tried an older driver, with the same result. I have also tested with a second gpu to only drive the display, with another for rendering only in Thea, and it still crashes with the Instance Scene.

Here are the Benchmark Results:

Caustics Scene:
Device #0: GeForce GTX 770
Device #1: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645 @ 2.40GHz
Device #1: memory 5538/49143 Mb
Device #0: memory 629/4096 Mb
Device #1: 368 s/p
Device #0: 457 s/p

Total = 825 s/p

Instance Scene
Crashed - no results yet

Toy Plane
Device #0: GeForce GTX 770
Device #1: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645 @ 2.40GHz
Device #1: memory 4548/40951 Mb
Device #0: memory 364/4096 Mb
Device #0: 359 s/p
Device #1: 326 s/p

Total = 685 s/p

SSS Gears
Device #0: GeForce GTX 770
Device #1: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645 @ 2.40GHz
Device #1: memory 3709/40951 Mb
Device #0: memory 315/4096 Mb
Device #0: 109 s/p
Device #1: 172 s/p

Total = 281 s/p

As for CPU, I am running dual Xeons.

Best,
Foster
User avatar
notareal
Thea Support
Thea Support
Posts: 6558
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Oulu, Finland

foster wrote:... my Nvidia driver crashes, the screen goes black & then on again, and then I must restart Thea.
Try adjusting TdrDelay, TdrDdiDelay and TdrLevel. Please report back in bug forum is this will not help. http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... 985#p96985
foster
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:01 pm

Notareal,

I made the adjustments and still have the same problem. I will report it to the bug section.

Thanks,
Foster
iwan widjaja
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:36 am
Location: Indonesia

Hardware testbed :
Core i7 3930k
RAM 32 gb
GTX 560ti for display + 3 GTX titan for GPU rendering

Scene 1 = 2742 s/p
Scene 2 = 211 s/p
Scene 3 = 1916 s/p
Scene 4 = 644 s/p

Some question; when rendering scene 2 [ instancing]; my PC always crash when using high / normal priority on GPU. Is it driver problem or everyone experiencing same problem?

Thanks in advance :)

Code: Select all

Opening file "C:\ProgramData\Thea Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/Caustics/Caustics.scn.thea"
Finished in 0 seconds!
Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Building Environment... done. (0.15 seconds)
- Polys: 13520, Objects: 5, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 0
- Instances: 0, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 4199, Leaves: 4200, Cache Level: Normal
Building Environment... done. (0.0 seconds)
- Polys: 13520, Objects: 5, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 0
- Instances: 0, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 1336, Leaves: 4009, Cache Level: Normal
Device #1: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #2: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #3:  Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
Device #3: memory 3254/32711 Mb
Device #2: memory 325/6143 Mb
Device #1: memory 325/6143 Mb
Device #0: memory 325/6143 Mb
Device #2: 871 s/p
Device #0: 783 s/p
Device #1: 791 s/p
Device #3: 297 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 1 seconds!

Code: Select all

Opening file "C:\ProgramData\Thea Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/Instancing/Instancing.scn.thea"
Finished in 0 seconds!
Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Building Environment... Note: activating instancing mode for saving memory.
done. (0.608 seconds)
- Polys: 138667997609, Objects: 1063033, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 531516
- Instances: 1063028, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 646652, Leaves: 646657, Cache Level: Normal
Building Environment... Note: activating instancing mode for saving memory.
done. (0.624 seconds)
- Polys: 138667997609, Objects: 1063033, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 531516
- Instances: 1063028, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 167262, Leaves: 501791, Cache Level: Normal
Device #1: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #2: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #3:  Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
Device #3: memory 4588/32711 Mb
Device #0: memory 634/6143 Mb
Device #2: memory 634/6143 Mb
Device #1: memory 634/6143 Mb
Device #3: 55 s/p
Device #2: 55 s/p
Device #1: 51 s/p
Device #0: 50 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 5 seconds!

Code: Select all

Opening file "C:\ProgramData\Thea Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/MeccanoPlane/MeccanoPlane.scn.thea"
Finished in 0 seconds!
Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Building Environment... done. (0.94 seconds)
- Polys: 503556, Objects: 91, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 0
- Instances: 0, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 158062, Leaves: 158063, Cache Level: Normal
Building Environment... done. (0.109 seconds)
- Polys: 503556, Objects: 91, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 0
- Instances: 0, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 40851, Leaves: 122554, Cache Level: Normal
Device #1: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #2: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #3:  Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
Device #3: memory 3568/32711 Mb
Device #1: memory 383/6143 Mb
Device #2: memory 383/6143 Mb
Device #0: memory 383/6143 Mb
Device #3: 247 s/p
Device #0: 561 s/p
Device #1: 569 s/p
Device #2: 539 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 2 seconds!

Code: Select all

Opening file "C:\ProgramData\Thea Render/Scenes/Benchmark/Presto/SSSGears/SSSGears.scn.thea"
Finished in 0 seconds!
Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Building Environment... done. (0.37 seconds)
- Polys: 48218, Objects: 23, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 0
- Instances: 0, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 13736, Leaves: 13725, Cache Level: Normal
Building Environment... done. (0.23 seconds)
- Polys: 48218, Objects: 23, Parametric: 0
- Moving: 0, Displaced: 0, Clipped: 0
- Instances: 0, Portals: 0
- Nodes: 4211, Leaves: 12621, Cache Level: Normal
Device #1: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #2: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #3:  Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
Device #3: memory 3695/32711 Mb
Device #1: memory 390/6143 Mb
Device #2: memory 390/6143 Mb
Device #0: memory 390/6143 Mb
Device #3: 131 s/p
Device #0: 163 s/p
Device #1: 164 s/p
Device #2: 186 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 2 seconds!
Attachments
PC.jpg
User avatar
patricks
Thea Technical Artist
Thea Technical Artist
Posts: 2375
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: Germany & Palma de Mallorca/Spain

if you have a look at the benchmarks you will see that GPU don't perform that good compared with the CPU on heavy instanced scenes (in other words the GPU is not always better then the CPU depending on what you render). Setting the GPU to low can help when you have heavy instanced scenes (but this will depend on the scene ... so sometimes if the scene is not too heavy instanced you may be able to use priority normal or high, just in case your GPU crashes, use priority Low).

all the benchmarks where made with all GPU and CPU set to low.

Greetings Patrick
" Poets say science takes away from the beauty of the stars - mere globs of gas atoms.
I too, can see the stars on a desert night, and feel them. But do I see less or more ? "

Richard P. Feynman
User avatar
silic
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:38 pm
Location: sion, switzerland

voici mes tests : I suppose a gtx 690 is more powerful than Titan? for almost the same price

caustic 2044 s/p

Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #1: GeForce GTX 690
Device #2: GeForce GTX 690
Device #3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X 990 @ 3.47GHz
Device #3: memory 8040/24567 Mb
Device #0: memory 380/6144 Mb
Device #2: memory 380/2048 Mb
Device #1: memory 450/2048 Mb
Device #0: 783 s/p
Device #3: 289 s/p
Device #2: 485 s/p
Device #1: 487 s/p


instancing 194 s/p

Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #1: GeForce GTX 690
Device #2: GeForce GTX 690
Device #3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X 990 @ 3.47GHz
Device #0: memory 690/6144 Mb
Device #2: memory 718/2048 Mb
Device #3: memory 9243/24567 Mb
Device #1: memory 809/2048 Mb
Device #1: 40 s/p
Device #2: 40 s/p
Device #0: 61 s/p
Device #3: 53 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 6 seconds!


meccano 1458 s/p

Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #1: GeForce GTX 690
Device #2: GeForce GTX 690
Device #3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X 990 @ 3.47GHz
Device #2: memory 470/2048 Mb
Device #0: memory 438/6144 Mb
Device #3: memory 8209/24567 Mb
Device #1: memory 557/2048 Mb
Device #3: 251 s/p
Device #1: 340 s/p
Device #0: 525 s/p
Device #2: 342 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 1 seconds!


Gears 481 s/p

Device #0: GeForce GTX TITAN
Device #1: GeForce GTX 690
Device #2: GeForce GTX 690
Device #3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X 990 @ 3.47GHz
Device #3: memory 7994/24567 Mb
Device #0: memory 388/6144 Mb
Device #1: memory 507/2048 Mb
Device #2: memory 422/2048 Mb
Device #1: 100 s/p
Device #2: 100 s/p
Device #3: 127 s/p
Device #0: 154 s/p
Finished in 5 minutes and 2 seconds!
Silic
processeur Intel i7 CPU X990 3.47GHz - 24 Go mémoire - carte vidéo 1x Nvidia gtx 690 + 1x gtx titan
- windows 7 64 - Sketchup 8/2013/2014 - Shaderlight - Photoshop - vray su - twilight - terragen 2 - moi - thearender ...
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (Studio)”