Thea FBX Converter v1.5.08.39.1455 - Beta

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: patricks

Post Reply
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles

Is it perhaps possible to add a additional OBJ output? Im having issues with FBX files on mac i cant open in no other program but FBX2thea. Blender wont read the file and the autodesk FBX convertor says the file is corrupt, yet FBX2thea reads it just fine. Could come in handy if we can also output OBJ.
User avatar
Frederik
Thea A Team
Thea A Team
Posts: 5581
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:24 pm
Location: Denmark

Have you tried the Autodesk FBX 2013 Converter...?
It's free and you can convert to OBJ, DAE and FBX in various versions... :)

P.S. That particular file you've mentioned can't get converted.
It seem to be corrupted somehow...
Cheers
Kim Frederik

"If you have no critics you'll likely have no success..."
-Malcolm X
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles

Frederik wrote:Have you tried the Autodesk FBX 2013 Converter...?
It's free and you can convert to OBJ, DAE and FBX in various versions... :)

P.S. That particular file you've mentioned can't get converted.
It seem to be corrupted somehow...
Yes thats sort of why, Autodesk converter also gave a error on the file. It says its corrupted yet fbx2thea can handle it just fine.
User avatar
dbalex
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1544
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:52 pm
Location: Brussels / Belgium
Contact:

Could we have an FBX converter that batch converts fbx assets to mod.thea assets?
Or is there a way to convert the scn.thea to mod.thea?
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles

dbalex wrote: Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:57 am Could we have an FBX converter that batch converts fbx assets to mod.thea assets?
Or is there a way to convert the scn.thea to mod.thea?
Yes studio makes mod.thea files, you can do so from the model panel. Right click > save as mod or you can drag the model group from the model panel to Thea browser
User avatar
dbalex
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1544
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:52 pm
Location: Brussels / Belgium
Contact:

I know that workflow but it's very cumbersome. The problem is that what I want is to have the model itself saved as mod.thea. If I use the FBX converter I get my model converted as a Theascene. It's a bit difficult to explain but when I open the theascene I'm actually entering inside the grouped mesh or the model and see each part ungrouped.

So what I have to do is to select each part of my model, make a group, move the pivot point back to 0-0-0 and then save the model like you said earlier.

The only thing I want is to be able to choose to have the file saved as a mod.thea or as scn.thea.
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles

Perhaps it can be done by code, im not sure. They would need to make it group all items and also add the gizmo at 0,0,0
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (Studio)”