Thea Studio v1.5.08 Revision 1455

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: patricks

User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am

I will review your report first thing when I arrive at the office and add them for resolution in our bug tracker.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
User avatar
tengwai128
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:30 am
Location: KUALA LUMPUR

Hello,

I'm newbie here
I've just installed 1455 on my pc: - corei7 4790, with gtx1070 + gtx760Ti
The automatic cuda toolkit was great at 1st.

It ran smoothly and uses my both of GC + corei7 to render my image (under presto MC) after 10 mins my pc restarted itself. :crazy: I tried twice and it keep restarting my pc. so without any option I switched back to 1446 :wtf:

anyone face this problem? any solution towards this issue? pls help 8-)

Anyway! HAPPY NEW YEAR 2017 to all!
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X, Asus X399-A Prime, Galax Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 SLi, 32GB Kingston DDR4 HyperX RAM, 500GB M.2 , ACER 27" Monitors. Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am

This is not an issue with the revision actually. From your description it most likely is overheat or inadequate power supply.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10381
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK

or drivers, I had issues with Windows 10 restarting... its the free, cheap option :)
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am

Black screen restart is always power supply. Overheat of CPU is always hard shutdown from the motherboard and if the GPU overheats it will likely cause the restart to clock down or cause system freeze causing you to again hard shutdown with four second power hutton press or a reset button. In my experience when the system reboots in mid render the cards have been gradually heating up and if there is not enough airflow they will stall. Most cases of power supply causing problems, normally this would trigger soon as you press the start render button.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
User avatar
tengwai128
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:30 am
Location: KUALA LUMPUR

Anthony, the reason that I posted up here is that. There's no restart problem on older version of .1446 :wtf: I can render it overnight using presto MC (CPU + GCs) without restarting issue.

btw. I'm using CM liquid cooling for my i7, CM 700wat PS for i7 system, 4 chasing fans + 3on gtx1070, 2on gtx760ti. I don't think my pc has any overheated issue
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X, Asus X399-A Prime, Galax Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 SLi, 32GB Kingston DDR4 HyperX RAM, 500GB M.2 , ACER 27" Monitors. Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am

With revision 1446 you would not have Pascal card running. It would only use CPU + 760. With revision 1447 however you would have Pascal and Maxwell card both running if you replaced Presto DLL files.

Therefore I can only assume that with revision 1446 you have CPU + GTX 760 running which means power supply would be enough to run the system well.

With both CPU + 2 GPUs running with latest revision this could be the problem here. I would suggest monitoring temperatures using HWMonitor to determine when both cards are rendering how their temperatures behave after ten minutes.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
User avatar
tengwai128
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:30 am
Location: KUALA LUMPUR

:wtf: 1446 even on "my devices" show my pascal card its not functioning?
ok i'll try on 1447 and 1455 and monitor my PS & temp :shock: thanks for your advice Anthony!
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X, Asus X399-A Prime, Galax Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 SLi, 32GB Kingston DDR4 HyperX RAM, 500GB M.2 , ACER 27" Monitors. Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am

Its functioning just fine do not worry. It just means that Pascal device is not available for usage with Thea Presto until you have performed replacement of Presto DLL files with CUDA 8 support.

With revision 1455 this is now provided by default, therefore no DLL file replacement for Presto is necessary.

If I had to make an educated guess here of what is happening, when both cards and CPU are at 100%, internal temperature of the case increases and forces also the inflow air temperature for the power supply to also increase. What happens when you draw maximum output from your power supply is that the efficiency of the power supply drops at higher temperatures.

Thus after ten minutes or so the internal temperature has reached a point where the power delivery to both cards is fluctuating to a point where you have these reboot happening.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
User avatar
tengwai128
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:30 am
Location: KUALA LUMPUR

hi, any news on the upcoming update for Thea Studio???? it has been a while
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X, Asus X399-A Prime, Galax Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 SLi, 32GB Kingston DDR4 HyperX RAM, 500GB M.2 , ACER 27" Monitors. Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (Studio)”