Thea Render Revision 387

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: patricks

User avatar
Javadevil
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3705
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Noosa
Contact:

giannis wrote:I doubt that this might be the reason. Perhaps, you can increase glare weight so that the effect is more powerful?

greetings
I've tried the glare weight to 100%, I can see a little bloom but know stars even though they are turned on.

I'll try a different scene.
Zacchia
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 7:11 am

I have seen that glare effect is just seen on biased rendering when the rendering is finished. During rendering you do not see the effect. When rendering is finished you can set glare and update then the image and now is should be seen.
Windows 7 64 bit, Thea Render, SketchUp Pro
User avatar
Javadevil
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3705
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Noosa
Contact:

Zacchia wrote:I have seen that glare effect is just seen on biased rendering when the rendering is finished. During rendering you do not see the effect. When rendering is finished you can set glare and update then the image and now is should be seen.
Yep i realize the rendering needs to be finished, so thats not the case with this scene of mine.

cheers
User avatar
notareal
Thea Support
Thea Support
Posts: 6558
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Oulu, Finland

Mind to post a simple scene that lacks glare in BSD, but works with TR1/TR2.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

I don't think that's necessary because it is known that biased method
clamps dynamic range to get improved AA. It's not a bug, it's rather
a decision. So, I fear that the only "fix" can be done with an option,
to keep whole dynamic range (which will also give full range when
exporting to HDR/EXR).

best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
Javadevil
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 3705
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Noosa
Contact:

Hi Ioannis,
Is the AA you are talking about is around lights, hotspots ?
Like in other renderers theres poor AA around lights.
I think this is also a good reason to use glare to cover up those areas.

cheers
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Javadevil wrote: Is the AA you are talking about is around lights, hotspots ?
Like in other renderers theres poor AA around lights.
I think this is also a good reason to use glare to cover up those areas.
Yes, at that part and also near bright reflections, the clamping is a good way
to improve drastically AA without having supersampling. And it sounds a good
idea to have glare for these areas. 8-)

All I want is that this should be optional because in some cases (like producing
animations with any post) low dynamic range images are fine.
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
Hieru
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 2021
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:47 am
Location: UK
Contact:

I think that there might be a license bug with Revision 387.

I started up Thea this morning and it says "Demo Version" at the top of the UI and all renders have watermarks.

I tried re-entering my license and activation code and it hasn't made any difference.

Edit - Scratch that, I just had to ask for a new activation code. Everything works fine now. Strange though that it reverted to demo mode overnight.
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Hieru wrote: Edit - Scratch that, I just had to ask for a new activation code. Everything works fine now. Strange though that it reverted to demo mode overnight.
That's rather unusual for RV387, since the licensing has been improved to minimize double activations.
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
dale
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 674
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 5:58 pm

As giannis knows, I had a bunch of licensing problems, but the 387 install was seamless.
What a waste of thumbs that are opposable, to make machines that are disposable
Locked

Return to “Versions & Resources (Studio)”