Thea Render Revision 470

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: patricks

Locked
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Panga wrote:Thanks a lot for the improvements on the viewport !! Now I can see my full model even from far away !!! :clap:
Ah, that was actually an older fix. ;)

Duncan sent some bug reports on the camera updates, these were probably on the last moment changes to support... translation. :oops:
We will also add IES multiplier for both point/area lights. The good thing for us, is that we have made important changes on engine
level and I am happy we did them before release.

best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10525
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 52 times

the camera updates are working well, I also like the headlight feature, which is a nice when importing 3ds etc.. would it be possible in IR too?
does the default camera start set at pinhole now?.. I haven't checked
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
riccky
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:50 am
Location: somewhere in 3D
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Too tired lat night, yes camera update in IR.
@nigec : what is the headlight feature ?
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10525
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 52 times

if you import a model with no sun, sky or lights, usually a 3ds or obj, if you go to the dark room and try and render you now get the option to add a light source, before TR1/2 would fail to render or just black
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 10 times

It also saves me when trying test scenes where all lights are off and before panicking that something is wrong... 8-)
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
Zacchia
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 7:11 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

giannis wrote:
Panga wrote:Thanks a lot for the improvements on the viewport !! Now I can see my full model even from far away !!! :clap:
What means this? I see no difference in viewport.

When i use IR it seams that the image looks now closer to the darkroom image, i mean it has the same brightness, bevor it was brighter in IR i think.
Windows 7 64 bit, Thea Render, SketchUp Pro
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10525
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Yeah I've done that giannis, maybe I've moved the HDRI or an old scene and the path's changed, then wonder why nothing happens lol :oops:
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
User avatar
Panga
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 3:32 pm
Location: Lyon - France
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Zacchia wrote:
giannis wrote:
Panga wrote:Thanks a lot for the improvements on the viewport !! Now I can see my full model even from far away !!! :clap:
What means this? I see no difference in viewport.

When i use IR it seams that the image looks now closer to the darkroom image, i mean it has the same brightness, bevor it was brighter in IR i think.
Zacchia, I'm refering to an old behaviour of the viewport where the model was disappearing when you were farther than 1 km. It was a big problem for me as I'm working on very large aeras.
Zacchia
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 7:11 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

ah, OK, thanks for answer.
Windows 7 64 bit, Thea Render, SketchUp Pro
ThomasHelzle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 652
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:03 pm
Location: Berlin
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Thanks for the update! :clap:

The problem with anisotropy seems indeed gone in all tests I did today - Hooray! :thumbup:

One image came up extremely much more bright than before using IBL only.
I had to set ISO to about 30 instead of 100 to get it to a similar brightness as before.
Is that to be expected from the calibration you did?
Before I sometimes needed to turn up HDRIs to an Intensity of 3 to get the lighting I would have expected at 1, so I guess all is good now :-)


Ghost in the machine?:
It seems that sometimes HDRIs in the IBL slot snap to a Wrapping called "Center" that isn't in the list but exists sometimes when I start a new scene. Does that ring any bells?
Is it possible that there is some forgotten "ghost wrapping" left in Thea?

(I'm actually very comfortable with having a friendly ghost in the machine :-) ).

I'll make a screenshot when I encounter it the next time.

Cheers and many, many thanks for all the hard work! :clap:

Thomas
Locked

Return to “Versions & Resources (Studio)”