Thea Render Revision 486

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: patricks

User avatar
Pinko
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 11:03 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Tnx Giannis
ciao
Luca.
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles

the backup makes a backup when opening the file, is that true??
User avatar
warnotte
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:18 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

I'm downloading right now :)

Very good joob for everything. Especially something i had in mind : c) You can now subdivide your
meshes inside Thea! :clap:
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Rombout wrote:the backup makes a backup when opening the file, is that true??
Say, that you want to open the backup "test.scn.thea.~". Thea will swap this file with "test.scn.thea" and load from that file instead.
This way you can continue working with your normal file.
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles

oke but it wasnt really clear when the backup file is created... i just checked it seems it does this when a file is opened or saved. is that correct?
imodel
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 500
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:37 pm

Great revision Giannis and Team Thea! I am also curious about when the backup is created, not that it matters. :)
User avatar
Oxer
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 886
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Benavente, Spain
Contact:

Thanks very much Giannis!!
urbanstudio
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 5:38 pm
Location: Milan - italy

This revision is, IMHO, a powerful one! :thumbup:
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Rombout wrote:oke but it wasnt really clear when the backup file is created... i just checked it seems it does this when a file is opened or saved. is that correct?
It is created only when you are saving a scene (scn.thea, pack.thea, xml). Then, if the file already exists it is renamed; you can always revert to this backup file afterwards with using the "Backup Files" filter in the Open dialog.

best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
ThomasHelzle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:03 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Wow, brilliant updates!

It started to get boring to always apply the same textures over and over again for IBL ;-)

Thank you so much!!! :thumbup:

When I saw the image of the physical sky sphere inside the library folder (cool!), I was reminded that I wanted to ask something for a long time:
Would it be possible to have a saturation value for the physical sky?

I basically never use the physical sky since it introduces way too much blue into the rendering.
In so-called "reality" you hardly ever have such a saturated sky without clouds (at least in Berlin) or there are many blocking elements around that sometimes you don't want to build around your object of interest.
I even convert most HDRIs into greyscale since the colors are too dominant for my taste...

I would love to be able to tone down the saturation and use the physical sky as my default lighting solution to start from.

Thanks again!!!

Thomas Helzle
Locked

Return to “Versions & Resources (Studio)”