[RV488.1455] Thea for SketchUp

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: Tomasz

fdreise
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:07 pm

Thanks for the update and info !
User avatar
ivan.dedos
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:36 pm
Location: Guatemala
Contact:

Tomasz wrote: [*] Improved: Laubwerk Support - Thea do not wait for the plugin when updating geometry in Interactive Rendering (IR)
This opens up great possibilities. Thanks a lot Tomasz
2016-12-20 17_22_37-Plants.png
SketchUp scene:
test laubwerk trees-Scene 1_skp.png

...and Thea render scene:
test laubwerk trees-Scene 1.png
I will continue testing. Best regards!
• SketchUp 2019.1 • Spanish SketchUp Forumdedos.estudio • Windows 10 64bit • Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz • 32 GB RAM
User avatar
seraleklee1
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 827
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:51 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Greetings, I installed the latest version: TheaForSketchUp_v1.5.08.488.1455
but in the information window tells me even the previous version. And 'an installation error or information window?
thank you
Attachments
versione.JPG
i9 7920X - Zotac 3070 TI - 32 gb ram
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 8941
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

seraleklee1 wrote:And 'an installation error or information window?
The installer cannot overwrite files if SketchUp is running. Please make sure you close SketchUp before installation. The installer should warn you about it, so I don't know what happened here. I think the installer was corrupted, but you haven't noticed an error. I would clear Internet browser cache and download the installer once again.

When installer finishes you can always press "Show details" of the installation.
The most important files are Thea4SU_core.so and thea-x64.dll. If there is something wrong with their extraction, then the update won't certainly work.
Attachments
Thea4SU_InstDetails.png
Thea4SU_InstDetails.png (17.27 KiB) Viewed 292 times
User avatar
seraleklee1
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 827
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:51 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

I try to reinstall, but I realized that the install does not see SketchUp 2017.
Strange!
Attachments
install.JPG
install.JPG (52.42 KiB) Viewed 286 times
i9 7920X - Zotac 3070 TI - 32 gb ram
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 8941
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

The installer looks for this registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SketchUp\SketchUp 2017\InstallLocation
If it doesn't find it, it hides SU2017 option.
The InstallLocation key contains path to the installed SketchUp 2017.
Run "Repair" option in SketchUp 2017 installer, please.
User avatar
seraleklee1
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 827
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:51 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Thank you!!! fixed everything with "regedit" :thumbup:
Attachments
install2.JPG
install2.JPG (53.17 KiB) Viewed 265 times
i9 7920X - Zotac 3070 TI - 32 gb ram
User avatar
3DCGdesign
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:43 am

Hey Tomasz,

If I apply the plastic template to a material with SketchUp to Thea I can set reflection to 50% and roughness to 20... I can even add a link to an external bump texture - great!

Then, if I decide I would like to edit the material further, usually add a procedural bump mixed with the texture bump - I click "edit material in thea studio" button, and it opens the material for editing - but the parameters I have already set for the material are not auto-loaded into the material, but rather I have to basically "start over from scratch", and this is not only an unexpected behavior and more than slightly disappointing, it actually tends to slow me down in my workflow considerably... can you fix this please? Maybe it's a "feature request" but it seems like a natural logical way for the materials to work.

Thanks for listening.
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 8941
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

3DCGdesign wrote:I click "edit material in thea studio" button, and it opens the material for editing - but the parameters I have already set for the material are not auto-loaded into the material
If this happens on your machine this way, then it is a bug. Mat-Lab material should inherit the set-up from a material preset used. I will see whether I can replicate it.
What is your SU version and what is your OS?
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10381
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK

just looking and the value for roughness is half the value, 50% roughness in the Thea tool is 25%-ish in Matlab, reflection and bump are ok here
win10
SU2017 most recent plugin/Studio
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (SketchUp)”