[FIXED] Crash: IR and layer visibility on Mac #1427 <<RV254

Ask a question about usage of application or give us your feedback regarding new features and bug issues.

Moderator: Tomasz

Post Reply
karine
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:43 pm

Platform OS X 10.10.1
Thea Studio: 1.4.03 Build 1240 MacOSX 64bit
Thea for Sketchup: 1.4.03.246.1240 64 bit
SketchUp 15.2.686

Step to reproduce:
- Start interactive rendering with Presto AO
- In SketchUp, select a layer with something in the camera view, make it visible / invisible

SU crashes in 50% of cases.

Code: Select all

Process:               SketchUp [11994]
Path:                  /Applications/SketchUp 2015/SketchUp.app/Contents/MacOS/SketchUp
Identifier:            com.sketchup.SketchUp.2015
Version:               15.2 (15.2.686)
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           SketchUp [11994]
User ID:               502

Date/Time:             2015-01-25 14:20:53.889 +0100
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.10.1 (14B25)
Report Version:        11
Anonymous UUID:        5D679AF9-8FA3-F279-AAB9-D7E9FF971F5A


Time Awake Since Boot: 150000 seconds

Crashed Thread:        24

Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes:       EXC_I386_GPFLT

Thread 0:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0   libsystem_kernel.dylib        	0x00007fff8a6823f6 __select + 10

...
Thread 24 Crashed:
0   thea-x64.dylib                	0x0000000130ea0233 0x130a0c000 + 4801075
1   thea-x64.dylib                	0x0000000130ea02b1 0x130a0c000 + 4801201
2   thea-x64.dylib                	0x0000000130e9fc35 0x130a0c000 + 4799541
3   thea-x64.dylib                	0x000000013122fb12 THEA_Init + 1508546
4   thea-x64.dylib                	0x0000000131085163 0x130a0c000 + 6787427
5   ???                           	0x00007f9384124e00 0 + 140271552712192
...

Thread 24 crashed with X86 Thread State (64-bit):
  rax: 0x0000000000000001  rbx: 0x0000000000000028  rcx: 0x0014000000000000  rdx: 0x0000000000000001
  rdi: 0x00007f938bb839f8  rsi: 0x00007f938bb9a9d0  rbp: 0x000000000000000d  rsp: 0x000000012c0b84d0
   r8: 0x00007f938bb83f60   r9: 0x00000000ffffffff  r10: 0x00007f938bb8b2c8  r11: 0x0000000000000000
  r12: 0x000000000000000d  r13: 0x00007f938bb1a630  r14: 0x00000000ffffffff  r15: 0x0000000131aa7140
  rip: 0x0000000130ea0233  rfl: 0x0000000000010202  cr2: 0x0000000113985000
  
Logical CPU:     2
Error Code:      0x00000000
Trap Number:     13
...
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 9068
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

Does this happen also with very simple model?
EDIT:
Thea4SU indeed is very unstable when switching layers while Interactive Render is runnning on OSX.
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 9068
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

The crash happens when a model is modified and Sun is enabled. If Sun is not being used, everything goes well.
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10450
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK

I think the crash is happening with Studio as well, well it just stops responding, usually while changing IBL's.. change the ibl, hit render crash or move the sun and render, but its so random I can't catch it to record it
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
karine
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:43 pm

Tomasz wrote:The crash happens when a model is modified and Sun is enabled. If Sun is not being used, everything goes well.
I will work these days without sun, and keep you informed.
User avatar
sepo
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 3:28 pm
Location: Northampton, UK

Happened to me in studio and in the Su Plugin.
karine
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:43 pm

It crashes very less often. The workaround allows to work with interactive rendering.
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 9068
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

We have fixed this! It was not only Mac issue, although the bug was not that apparent in Windows.

The fix will be available in upcoming RV253.
Thank you for the report.
Post Reply

Return to “Support & Feedback (SketchUp)”