Presto OpenCL Port (Done! Looking for beta testers!)

Check out our technology advances and new features.
Locked
User avatar
notareal
Thea Support
Thea Support
Posts: 6558
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Oulu, Finland
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:33 am

giannis wrote:
grzybu wrote: If Thea will support Iris it will be great, but it will probably boil my macbook in seconds
That's always a concern.

Actually, the experience we have is that brand laptops from well known manufacturers have no issues. It is usually the systems without a label that have problems; if you are buying/creating such systems from parts and want to use them as render machines, the advice is: buy good cooling (water cooling if possible), good case (for ventilation) and sufficient power supply. As soon as someone gets a high end CPU/GPU but puts that in a system the problems start: it can be dangerous up to the point of burning the device (due to bad ventilation) or driver crashes / black renders (due to insufficient power supply).

Best wishes
With a quick look, Intel Iris Pro is fairly nice with OpenCL. The experience I have from macs, is that there has not been temperature issues... they are have well designed hardware. Personally if I had a Iris Pro, I would like to put that in use. The risks I see are related to poorly designed (windows)laptops.
Here is some test that give a impression how performance might increase.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6993/inte ... -tested/17

Image
User avatar
Oxer
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Benavente, Spain
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:52 pm

Good news!!
I have a iMac with AMD Radeon HD 6970M and ready to test this new feature :thumbup: :clap:
If you have a Mac computer you can see in this link what version of OpenGL and OpenCL your computer uses.
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15254
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:19 am

I got iris pro mid 2015 MacBook, mine doesn't have the extra amd processor. I don't see my model there I don't think I can apply.
duanekemp
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 737 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Contact:

Sun Aug 02, 2015 5:24 pm

I'm enthusiastic to try this... please include me.
Thank you.
SketchUp & Thea Render are my tools
What else is there to know? :-)

Thea Render Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/shadenlightusersgroup/

https://duanekemp.artstation.com/ - https://www.facebook.com/Kemp.Productions
Domingus4D
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:17 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:29 pm

Finally!!!
Put me on that list, please.

We have several AMD Cards and an iMac with Intel Iris for testing
pzdm
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 8:20 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:50 am

here am I!
I can test both platforms for you, esp. profi GPUs!

Pavel
User avatar
Bo Dodge
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:38 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:17 pm

Have you guys starting contacting your Beta Testers yet?

I'm curious to know if the OpenCL Presto port will support the twin Firepro D300/500/700s on the newer Mac Pros?
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:58 am

Bo Dodge wrote:Have you guys starting contacting your Beta Testers yet?
We will be doing so shortly. I am sorry for the delay but there were a lot of vacations planned inside August and so we were going much slower. We are back and will be going full throttle in a few days again. :)
Bo Dodge wrote: I'm curious to know if the OpenCL Presto port will support the twin Firepro D300/500/700s on the newer Mac Pros?
There 's a particular reason for supporting AMD/OpenCL and it has a name: mac pros. ;)

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
asureshbabu
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:34 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Thu Sep 10, 2015 5:17 am

Please tel how to reduce the render time in PRESTO AO in cpu only ...
User avatar
eph
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:27 am
Location: Europe
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:57 pm

Hey Giannis,

Would like to sign up!
Will the beta also run inside Sketchup & other apps?

Cheers
Work: iMac Intel i7 3.4 GHz (8GB RAM), AMD Radeon HD 6970M (2GB RAM), OS X 10.9.5 (FR)
Home: Dell Intel i7 3.6 GHz (16GB RAM), GeForce GTX 750 Ti (4GB RAM), Windows 8.1 64bit (EN)
Locked