Altair Inspire Render beta 2 opened to the public

Everything related to Altair Inspire Render beta

Moderator: claudio

Post Reply
User avatar
saurus
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Serbia
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 51 times
Contact:

Sat Jun 22, 2019 7:22 pm

When I see this, I have to thank Tomasz once again for keeping Thea4SU alive ... :clap:
These users thanked the author saurus for the post:
Tomasz (Thu Jul 11, 2019 7:53 pm)
Rating: 4%
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Contact:

Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:17 pm

saurus wrote:
Sat Jun 22, 2019 7:22 pm
When I see this, I have to thank Tomasz once again for keeping Thea4SU alive ... :clap:
I have to conclude you don't give a chance to inspire render.

Actually I feel it is going to be very good. It's still far from ready, but I see huge potential in it.

It is capable of dealing with huge amounts of geometry.

It renders real-time with OpenGL.

It has infinite layers.

It already has instancing.

It still lacks many things, but it is beta after all.

We need more importers for architectural models.

SketchUp, DWG, IFC, maybe Revit and archicad.

I'd love to have exporters too. As having models with setup materials, lights and cameras to use in other software would be great.

I'd also love it to render pointclouds. It would allow great context rendering.
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:47 pm

JQL wrote:
Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:17 pm
I'd also love it to render pointclouds. It would allow great context rendering.
Do you mean rendering just points or to be able to place an instance at each point?
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:50 pm

JQL wrote:
Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:17 pm
We need more importers for architectural models.
SketchUp, DWG, IFC, maybe Revit and archicad.
We actually read DWG, but just the 2D geometry.

When you say SketchUp, Revit, Archicad, do you mean just the geometry?
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Contact:

Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:09 am

Point clouds have a lot of detail. Some software can make points diameter wider so they look solid at a distance.

This could be used here too.

If point clouds get a mask index they can be easily removed fron final images too and replaced by photo backgrounds in post-production.

However having it visible in reflections and refractions,vor having it casting shadows would be great.

3d DWG would allow you to broaden your audience to architects very fast. Not every renderers support that format, hence some of SketchUp's success.

For IFC and BIM formats, the important aspect would be geometry and model hierarchy, not so much the information.

You shouldn't strip the information from the model though as that would ruin the model if you wanted to export from inspire later and let it be used again in a BIM model.
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
dbalex
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:52 pm
Location: Brussels / Belgium
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 126 times
Contact:

Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:04 am

I must say I'm very impressed by the responsiveness of claudio and the team on this thread, this is very nice to see! :thumbup:

I'll be happy to beta-test this when work doesn't get in the way.

Just one question, does it render animation ?

For me thea4su does almost everything I want except animations. I would love to be able to setup animations with a timeline with keyframes that makes it possible to switch between cameras and also an ability to import animated meshes from other applications (fbx or other format). This would.make inspire render the perfect companion to the thea4su plugin. You prepare your scene and make the static renders in your plugin of choice but to render animations you switch to inspire where you have all the tools lacking in the plugins.
duanekemp
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 737 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Contact:

Sun Jun 23, 2019 9:54 pm

dbalex wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:04 am
For me thea4su does almost everything I want except animations. I would love to be able to setup animations with a timeline with keyframes that makes it possible to switch between cameras and also an ability to import animated meshes from other applications (fbx or other format). This would.make inspire render the perfect companion to the thea4su plugin. You prepare your scene and make the static renders in your plugin of choice but to render animations you switch to inspire where you have all the tools lacking in the plugins.

+1
SketchUp & Thea Render are my tools
What else is there to know? :-)

Thea Render Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/shadenlightusersgroup/

https://duanekemp.artstation.com/ - https://www.facebook.com/Kemp.Productions
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:32 am

saurus wrote:
Sat Jun 22, 2019 7:22 pm
When I see this, I have to thank Tomasz once again for keeping Thea4SU alive ... :clap:
Keeping Thea4SU "alive" was also an Altair decision, so you should thank Altair too.

Let me ask you this: have you actually downloaded and tried Inspire Render yourself?
From what are you basing this negative comment?

Thanks,
-Claudio
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:34 am

dbalex wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:04 am
I must say I'm very impressed by the responsiveness of claudio and the team on this thread, this is very nice to see! :thumbup:
Thank you!
dbalex wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:04 am
I'll be happy to beta-test this when work doesn't get in the way.
Looking forward to you feedback
dbalex wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:04 am
Just one question, does it render animation ?
Animation is on the way

-Claudio
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10232
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:02 am

Regarding saurus's response, I think Tomasz has done an amazing job, I've come in late with V2 and with V1.5 we needed Studio as backup for Thea4SU now with the latest plugin, that's not the case :D out of all honesty I'm happy to say as Sketchup user I don't need Studio which was always the plan for the plugins (I miss MatLab but we can't have everything lol)
HOWEVER this has raised the bar massively beyond the old studio and what people are going to expect from Altair now, you should be looking at what people who don't use Sketchup, Rhino or C4D have to say because these are the people you need to impress, you have FormZ, Max, Modo, Softimage, Blender users in limbo waiting for something special they have been hanging on for a very long time
my 2 cents, I really hope this goes to plan :)

Some things missing would be fbx, dae and alembic import, Houdini users were really wanting this for Thea
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
Post Reply